31/31 Blogging gives me a voice

31. Why do you blog?

That’s like asking why do I eat…

I really enjoy writing and love being able to improve on it through practice and feedback. When it comes to taking part in blogging challenges, I love finding out other peoples perspective to the same prompt and see how it compares to my own. One of the other big reasons I blog is that I love looking at the stats. Finding out that someone from Australia or Croatia has visited my blog (and hopefully enjoyed it) is an incredible feeling.

Within the blogging community, I can be myself. Here, you are not judged or bullied, you are encouraged. You aren’t told that you’re doing it wrong as there is no right answer. Blogging gives people the creative freedom to post whatever they like as there is an audience for everyone. As RuPaul once said…

“It’s important to know thyself, and for people who don’t feel they fit in, it’s important to find your tribe. I remember the first time, when I was a kid in San Diego, California, I felt so alone and I felt I’d been dropped here by aliens from another planet. I remember when I saw Monty Python’s Flying Circus on television, people with this irreverent sense of humour and these ideas towards identity and drag and everything, I felt like, ‘That’s my tribe’. After that, I set out to go and find my people, and I eventually did. So the truth is, your tribe is out there waiting for you. You have to be willing to leave your village or leave your place and go find them, because they’re looking for you too.”

Leave a Reply

