15/31 Curiouser and curiouser…

15. Timeline of your day

This morning, I made myself a killer breakfast of cumberland sausages, fried eggs, Spanish bread, mozzarella and tomatoes, before heading off to a press preview screening of Disney’s Alice Through The Looking Glass at Leicester Square’s Empire IMAX.

IMG_3644

Now, anyone that knows me, knows just how much I love Disney. I’ve pretty much got 98% of Disney’s films on DVD and will always answer ‘The Little Mermaid’ when asked what my favourite film of all time is. Plus who doesn’t love that magical feeling you get wandering around DisneyWorld in Florida?! I haven’t been for well over ten years but I remember the excitement as if it was yesterday.

However, I just wasn’t a fan of this film and I really, really wanted to like it. In my opinion, even the cool graphics, big names and quirky designs couldn’t save it. There were hints of humour in the film but not as many as I was hoping for and some parts even made a few kids cry. One part I did like though, was when Sacha Baron Cohen’s character, Time, told Alice something along the lines of “Everyone parts with everything eventually, my dear.” It made me realise that we shouldn’t hold on to material things and guard them so preciously, as at the end of the day, when you leave this life no-one else is going to care for those items the same way – it’s the memories you make that matter the most.

The thing I like about todays Disney films (aside from the incredible comedy they inject into most of them) is that they always carry a message, that (hopefully) gets through to the young audiences watching them around the world. Yet, with Alice Through The Looking Glass, it took an awful long time to get there. In fact, it was only within the last few scenes that it became apparent that the message was to appreciate the time we have because everything can change in a matter of a heartbeat.

Usually, at the end of every press preview screening, the audience will clap as the credits begin to roll. Unfortunately, this time that just wasn’t the case. Silence speaks volumes!

Sorry Disney, but I think I’ll stick to the 1951 classic of Alice in Wonderland instead.

alice_through_the_looking_glass

Leave a Reply

