The Theory of Everything – My Review

2015/01/img_1172.jpg

So today, after waiting 10 days since premiering in the UK on the 1st January, I (along with a fully booked screening) found out about the legendary Stephen Hawking’s early years through the BAFTA nominated, critically acclaimed wonder that is The Theory of Everything.

I must say, if you haven’t heard of this film yet… where the heck have you been?!?! I saw the first official trailer back in August and it gave me goosebumps. Not only was I drawn to this film because of lead actor, Eddie Redmayne (who played Marius in Les Miserables – one of my all time favourite musicals), but I soon realised that I didn’t really know that much about Professor Hawking aside from him being one of the greatest minds on the planet… and of course his brief (but pure gold) cameo’s on The Big Bang Theory.

If I was asked to sum up this film in one word, it would actually be impossible to do so. It is quite simply phenomenal and one of the greatest films I’ve seen in a very long time (and I’m quite lucky in that I get to attend press screenings on a fairly regular basis). Based on his loving ex-wife’s memoir Travelling to Infinity: My Life with Stephen, this film allows its audience to get a genuine, no holds barred insight into the struggles this inspirational couple have gone through. I don’t want to give away any spoilers but these two are the definition of true fighters!

It was recently revealed that The Theory of Everything has been nominated for TEN BAFTAs, and rightly so! Both Eddie Redmayne and Felicity Jones’ performance in portraying this incredible story is absolutely outstanding, and in my mind, if they don’t bag the BAFTAs they so clearly deserve then the judges obviously haven’t seen the film for themselves!

I was advised by a friend, who’d seen it a few days ago, to be armed with tissues. But, surprisingly even to myself, I have to admit I only found myself glassy eyed and choked up a handful of times. I believe that a tear did not actually fall because with the majority of the sad parts, some light and unexpected humour were short to follow. He proved that even in the darkest of times, he could find something for people to smile about.

When I’d seen the trailer all those months ago, I knew it would be the biggest film of 2015. But having seen (and thoroughly enjoyed) Into the Woods back in December, I thought I may have been too presumptuous. Until today. This film will go down in history as one of the greatest, true life stories ever to be made and I’m so pleased to have seen it.

Be sure to catch it in cinemas as soon as possible… you can’t miss out on watching such an epic on the big screen!

Leave a Reply

