Change of plan

Today’s post is to go a little off-piste so to speak… slightly wayward! I wasn’t inspired by the suggested prompt so I’ve decided to do my own thing this evening.

Fireworks.

Does anyone else think they’re overrated? Or is it just me? Call me a grouch or even an old fuddy-duddy if you will, but I just don’t understand why anyone would want to stand outside in the freezing cold, to basically be left with their ears ringing for the rest of the night?! Plus, they surely can’t be very environmentally friendly, right? And not that I’ve bought any myself, but they can’t be that cheap if you’re doing a display either – you might as well just watch your money burn instead… Although, don’t get me wrong, I completely understand the symbolic nature of the night, that’s been a firm tradition in this country since 1606 (we did a comic in the magazine about Guy Fawkes, which I fact checked to the ends of the Earth!), but there has been fireworks going off here most nights now since Diwali (22nd October) and I’m just ready for a firework free night.

What do you think fellow bloggers?

Leave a Reply

