Mixtape masterpiece

#279: You make a new friend. Make them a mixtape (or playlist, for the younger folks) that tells them who you are through song.

Hmm… a tricky one! I don’t know whether there are songs that could sum up or narrate my life – and I’m not saying it to insinuate that my life is completely different from every other persons on the planet, but purely that I’ve never thought of songs in that way. So instead, I’m going to examine my (current) favourite songs, to see if there is any relevance…

Pentatonix – La La Latch. The ‘La La La’ parts of the song of the song refer to families future responses to upcoming (exciting) decisions and the ‘Latch’ parts refer to a new interest in my life.

Pentatonix – Rather Be (cover). Again, referring to a new interest.

Sigma ft. Paloma Faith – Changing. Referring to a part of my life that I hope is going to continue to change over the next 6-12 months… exciting times!

Meghan Trainor – All About That Bass. I believe that the use of PhotoShop to manipulate models images for glossy mags/billboards etc, should stop as it’s damaging to tonnes of teens around the world. Fair enough, I’m only a size 8-10 but women should be portrayed as healthy weights and as Megan rightly references… no plastic, stick thin barbie dolls!

Pharrell Williams – Happy. Self explanatory 😀

The Lion King – Hakuna Matata. A motto that I try to live by… it means no worries for the rest of your days!

Les Miserables – Little People & Do You Hear The People Sing. Just because some of the verses are very relevant at the moment (and I LOVE Les Mis!) – plus I’m only 5″3, so Little People signifies that height doesn’t restrict an individuals capabilities.

Hercules (Disney’s) – Go the Distance. As I believe that I can (and will) achieve great things in my lifetime.

And I couldn’t write this post without including… Frozen – Let It Go! Signifying that I’m ready for the next stage of my life, no matter what anyone would think of me.

Leave a Reply

