Ebb and flow

#271: Our blogs morph over time, as interests shift and life happens. Write a post for your blog — but three years in the future.

Day #1366: 28th September 2017

Another entertaining journey home…

So I boarded the train on the second carriage (as the first one was crammed with the usual Friday night loud-mouth drunks) and sat down, only to sit opposite a blurry eyed gentleman, who had his feet up on the chair, drinking some cheap lager out of a can. Great! He also had his backpack on the seat next to him, which proved awkward when a bearded 30ish-year-old approached the seat. “Do you want to sit here mate?”, said the clearly tipsy Irishmen in a semi-aggressive manner. “Yeah”, the bearded man replied cautiously. “Well, I’m not a *expletive* mind reader!”. Oh dear… what have I let myself in for. Do I risk moving and creating a scene, or do I wait it out?! It’s only a 30 minute journey, what’s the worst that could happen.

That’s when a revolting daddy long legs started to dive bomb me… I was unable to hide my insane dislike for those things and it hadn’t gone unnoticed. So, the Irish guy tried catching it in order to put it out the window – only to accidentally pull its leg off! But it broke the ice as the Irish guy then began mocking the newly seated guys beard… Luckily for everyone, he was a pretty mellow man and didn’t take the slightest bit of offence. That’s when our conversation began – we discussed beards (obviously), nights out in the areas we lived in and, well, more about beards. But it just goes to show that initial impressions aren’t all they seem…

* FYI – this journey did actually take place, including everything in it. I always seem to have eventful train journeys home after nights out (and these all take place before midnight!), and my close friend mentioned that I should begin documenting it. So it would be nice if this actually took off and people enjoyed reading about them. Let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

