A bend in time

#270: When you’re giddy with excitement, does time speed up? Slow down? Tell us about the experience of anticipation.

I can’t say that this happens often, but the only times I can recall feeling giddy is in the few moments before going into a junket interview, working on the red carpet at the NTAs or a similar event. It’s weird because in those few minutes before these things happen, I panic (internally of course). My palms get sweaty, I get a dry mouth, my legs jitter up and down, and time generally tends to just freeze. That’s my nervous stage. But as soon as I am in that moment, in that chair, I somehow switch persona and exude confidence. That’s when the time rushes by – all the hours spent preparing, disappears in (what feels like) the blink of an eye. And then comes the adrenaline rush of ‘did that really just happen?!’… I honesty can’t deny it, I really love that feeling of being thrown into those situations – I somehow seem to thrive!

FYI this still counts as my 27th September post as I started writing it at 11:55pm hehe.

Leave a Reply

