Non sequitur

#266: Write a post about anything you’d like, but be sure to include this sentence somewhere in the final paragraph: “He tried to hit me with a forklift!”

Anything I like… I guess I could write about my endeavour to give my CV a complete overhaul, which begun last week. I decided that the reason I’ve not been getting many interview offers following my application submissions, is due to the fact that my CV looks pretty boring at first glance. So I thought “Chloe, it’s time for a makeover – time to really shake it up!”. What’s the first thing I do… Google for CV examples. The only slight flaw in this plan, was the fact that there is sooo much advice out there, inevitably clouding my overall objective. That said, the raw copy is typed up and ready, as this forms the general body of the document and I have had a little play around with the various style options available within a pages document. Let’s just say I’m getting there.

Once I’m happy with my new CV, I’ve got a few really good friends who said that they’d be happy to read through it and give me their thoughts – I’m always looking for feedback and ways in which I can improve, so being given constructive criticism always sits well with me. Whilst this is in progress, I can crack on with perfecting the basis to my cover letter – as without realising it, they’ve become a full A4 page long and nobody wants to be faced with that when having to sift through potentially hundreds of applications! I guess I’m just sick of getting the same old emails that start with “Thank you for your interest for our xxx vacancy at xxx. Unfortunately, we will not be taking your application any further… blah blah blah”. Every time I open one of these emails, it feels like he/she has tried to hit me with a forklift! But I’m determined for that to change and soon. So, watch this space…

2 thoughts on “Non sequitur

  1. Hi Chloe, I’ve been observing your daily prompt and draw ideas from them to mine. This post is included. I’ve started trying to write as my way of practicing how to. I’d like to ask some help. I don’t understand how to use the phrase, “He tried to hit me with a forklift.”

    • Hi Hanadie,

      Thanks for your comment and kind words. To be perfectly honest, I found this prompt quite an odd one – being informed that we could write about anything we liked so long as we included a peculiar and completely random phrase! I’m not even sure if I used it correctly myself but since I include the prompt at the top, the reader can see that I had to include it (and I’m not completely crazy).

      Sorry that I am unable to give you a better answer – I think that the majority of the posts written in reply to this prompt will completely be up for interpretation by each individual reader. Just write what you feel 🙂

Leave a Reply

