Are you being served?

#262: What’s the most dreadful (or wonderful) experience you’ve ever had as a customer?

I can’t say that anything sticks out in my mind as extremely bad or amazingly good. However, at the moment, I am getting extremely poor customer service from Tesco’s – one of the UK’s biggest supermarkets. I made a complaint back in mid-July about how I was treated by a member of staff on a recent visit to one of their branches and was told by a member of the customer services team that I would be sent a £10 giftcard as compensation for the embarrassment and inconvenience I experienced. To this day, two months later, the giftcard has yet to arrive. And I know what you’re all thinking “it’s only £10, forget about it’, but it’s just the principle of it all. I’m the Customer Services Manager at my company and I wouldn’t dream of informing a customer that they would be receiving something from us and then never sending it… why would you want to make an unhappy customer even more unhappy?! It wouldn’t exactly restore your faith in said company, but I guess because Tesco are such a big company, they can treat their unhappy customers however they want and get away with it.

Leave a Reply

