Sorry, I’m busy

#258: Tell us about a time when you should have helped someone… but didn’t.

Do chuggers count…? FYI, a chugger is an abbreviation of the term ‘Charity Mugger’, which here in the UK refers to the people that hang around crowded places (most frequently tube entrances/exits) trying to get you to sign up to a “one-off” charity donation, which turns into a regular one (commonly by text message). I have learnt that you need to continue walking, whilst saying “I already donate” in order for them to leave you be, otherwise they’ll send you down a huge guilt trip as to why you should donate in an attempt to get their commission. This makes me sound like a selfish individual but when I can, I do donate. Plus, even if I did want to make a one-off donation or set up a regular one, I certainly wouldn’t do it through a complete stranger that randomly approached me in the street.

Leave a Reply

