Ballerina, fireman, astronaut, moviestar

#217: When you were 10, what did you want to be when you grew up? What are you now? Are the two connected?

Not that I can remember my dreams and plans 15 years ago at all vividly, but I think at that age I had just gone abroad for the first time to Disney World Florida. Whilst out there, we went to Discovery Cove – when I was younger, as in 4-years-old younger, I wanted to be a Mermaid (what kid doesn’t?!), which I think fuelled my fascination in the creatures found under the sea. So be taken to swim with the dolphins… I was in heaven! It was one of the best days of my life. It was from there that I wanted to work with dolphins – either as a dolphin trainer, marine biologist or a dolphin rescuer. 

15 years on… I’m the Editorial & Marketing Assistant at NG Kids magazine UK. The two aren’t directly connected, but we have our ocean special currently on sale where we mention dolphins… so there’s a very minute link. Not that I was asked to write the dolphin pages – I wrote a double page spread called Shore Shapers instead, which was about the little creatures found along the UK’s coast line.

Screen shot 2014-08-05 at 14.01.20

Image: www.czs.org

Leave a Reply

