Back to the future

#216: Anachronism (noun): an error in chronology; a person or thing that’s chronologically out of place. Write a story in which a per- son or thing is out of place, or recount a time when you felt out of place.

Apologies for the delay in today’s post – it was press deadline day at the mag, so had been swamped with proofreading from cover to cover. Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely love doing it – I’d actually go as far as saying it’s one of the best parts of my job! I just didn’t have a minute to myself during the day, and I’m now super tired to think of something remotely interesting that is chronologically out of place… both fictionally or reality wise.

The only time that springs to mind (which is surprising, considering how much my brain has had to do today), is when I was asked to interview famous author, Anthony Horowitz, for his last book in his Power of Five series, Oblivion. I’d never read the four previous books but managed to pick up the storyline relatively easy – I remember that Anthony himself was impressed with how much I’d managed to read in the five days I’d had the book. I was literally reading it at every opportunity I had – whilst drying my hair, eating meals, commuting; I was determined! (FYI – it was approx 700 pages long and I’d roughly managed 500). After interviewing him, completing the book and attending the epic book launch at The Ivy Club Loft (oh yeah… very swish with its glass elevator!), I wanted to read the other four. So far, I have only managed to read the first one but it was still epic and luckily, I’d forgotten the ending of the last book because I’d read others in between in order to partially cloud my memory. Win win!

Leave a Reply

