Drawing a blank

#211: When was the last time you walked away from a discussion, only to think of The Perfect Comeback hours later? Recreate the scene for us, and use your winning line.

Last night! Perfect timing WordPress!

As I was waiting to get off the train, after attending a preview screening of Step Up 5 (ace film that makes you want to join them on the dance floor!), a guy asked myself and the girl next to me, our opinion on his dilemma so to speak, that he had been discussing quite loudly on his phone moments before. If I can remember correctly, he said “what would you do if you’d come up with a concept that would fix a big problem and it was pinched and presented by someone else as their own idea? You’d want to kick ass right?”. Trying not to laugh (as he’d clearly had a little drinkie-poos to subdue his anger), I looked at the other girl for inspiration but all she said was “I’d kick major ass”… In a panic as to what to say since my mind had gone blank (*thanks very much brain*), I went with “there’s nothing else you could do but kick ass”… oy vey!!

Once we had got off the train and all gone our separate ways, I thought of some pretty cool responses that I wished I’d thought of right there and then – it’s always the way! My first option was “try to find a flaw in your own concept/plan and expose it”. This way the thief would learn not steal other peoples ideas and it’s a sweet, sneaky form of revenge. But then I came up with option two, which is much better… “in front of the people the thief had pitched your concept to, ask him a question about the design/creation process that only you would know the answer to”. This would also expose him/her and show the people that had been impressed with the concept, that it was in fact your concept and not the work of the thief. Voila!

Leave a Reply

