From A to Z

#208: Create a short story, piece of memoir, or epic poem that is 26 sentences long, in which the first sentence begins with “A” and each sentence thereafter begins with the next letter of the alphabet.

Another toughie from the guys over at WordPress today,
But how does one complete it, I heard myself say.
Chloe, pull yourself together – it’s easy to do,
Don’t fret or delay, you know it’s in you!
End is far from sight, I know,
Forget about that and just see how you go.
Gradually, I see that this can be done,
Having to stay focused, always such fun.
I will talk of my weekend, relaxing and chilled,
Just can’t believe they go so quick, not even properly filled!
Kicking myself for not doing more,
Lying that this is what weekends are for!
Monday is frustratingly fast approaching,
Never ever ever enticing.
Oh writers block, how nice of you to show,
Please, just leave me be, I’ve only ten more lines to go!
Quails eggs, zebras, vases and pearl barley,
Random words, bringing me closer to the finale!
Such a different post to be written,
To be honest, I feel that I’ve not been beaten.
Understandably, I’m running out of things to put,
Vacantly staring, maybe I should continue on foot.
Waffling on, with the hardest letters to come,
X-ray my brain, you’ll see I’m not dumb!
Yikes! One more letter, what should it be,
Zero more sentences, demanded of me!

Leave a Reply

