Nintendo’s E3 2014!

What is E3 I hear you ask? To be honest, I had no idea before I went either but I’m proud to admit that it was lots of fun! After a bit of googling, I’ve discovered that the event started back in 1995 and was known as Electronic Entertainment Expo before becoming E3 (although it’s a bit hazy as to the year it changed). My understanding of the event, is that it is to showcase Nintendo’s future releases and allow the media/hardcore gamers to be the first to put their thumbs to the test!

So here are my favourites from the event…

Splatoon!

The most addictive game to hit 2015!

The most addictive game to hit 2015!

When I first set eyes on this multiplayer game, I thought it was the silliest thing I’d ever seen… playing virtual paintball where the targets mostly included the walls, trees and the floor. However, I’ve learnt that I should not judge a game before I’ve actually played it – it’s incredibly addictive! I’d never used a Wii U before, so that was quite a challenge in itself but once I’d mastered that, I was away. I guess it’s the primal instinct in all of us to win and beat the other team, and since there aren’t blood and guts gushing everywhere, to me at least, it’s a lot more appealing!

The only problem I found with it however, is that I now want need this in my life…

Due for release (unfortunately) the first half of 2015… such a long time to wait!

Mario Maker!

WiiU_MarioMaker_illu01_E3

This nifty little number allows you to be the master of your own game by creating your own courses – you can make it as easy or difficult as you like! You can also switch between play and edit mode, which means you can test out your new creations instantly and should an element not work, you can change it. Easy peasy! Simply use the GamePad screen on your Wii U to drag, drop and delete blocks, pipes, enemies and more. This is the first time gamers have been able to design their own arenas, opening up the imaginations of all ages across the world… the gaming world I should say.

Also, due for release in the first half of 2015.

Just Dance 2015!

Clap along if you feel like a room without a roof...

Clap along if you feel like a room without a roof…

After being introduced to Just Dance 4 a couple of years ago, I have been addicted to hitting the highest scores ever since. I love to dance anyway, so this was a perfect addition to my life. And then I see this one… Excitingly it has THE best soundtrack with some of my favourites songs including Ellie Goulding’s Burn, Pharrell Williams’ Happy, Icona Pop’s I love it and of course Calvin Harris’ Summer. There’s only a short list of tracks confirmed at the moment but with 28 songs still to be added, hopefully more of this summers hits will make the cut. After checking out snippets of these songs and their dance moves, I honestly cannot wait to get my hands on it – I’m so excited! This game is a must for anyone who loves music regardless of their dance ability.. it will be true feel good fun.

Due for release 24th October this year! Yay!

Yoshi’s Woolly World!

WiiU_Yoshi'sWoollyWorld_illu01_E3

I didn’t actually play this one myself but I observed another gamer revelling in this soft, fluffy land of yarn! It was the bright colours that attracted me originally and it looked like a fantastically adorable take on a Nintendo classic. Also, instead of throwing eggs, this cute knitted Dino throws balls of yarn at his enemies instead! Super cute!

Due for release during the first half of 2015.

I’m expecting next year to be bigger and better since they’ll be celebrating their 20th anniversary!

Images: Nintendo

Leave a Reply

