The road less travelled

#183: Pinpoint a moment in your past where you had to make a big decision. Write about that other alternate life that could have unfolded.

I guess the biggest decision I’ve had to make in my life so far, was when I handed in my notice to my paid part-time job in order to pursue my career in journalism/publishing. Since I had achieved my full drivers license (which was the main reason for working as a retail sales assistant) and was having to split my week between the paid retail work and my magazine internship, I decided it was time to really focus on my career. It was quite scary as I hadn’t been promised a job or any sort of paid work at the magazine but I needed them to know that I was serious about working in this industry. This proved to be the right move as a few weeks later, my travel-paid-only internship turned into a full-time position and over a year later, I started getting paid! So even though it took a little while to actually get the job, I’ve learnt a heck of a lot and shown my true dedication to working in this industry, as I’m sure not many people can say that they were a loyal unpaid intern for over a year!

I do believe that if I didn’t hand it my notice when I did, it’s quite possible I could still be working part-time in retail – and believe me when I say it was an absolute headache… and that’s not only because of the bright, artificial lighting! It wasn’t in the best area so the customers weren’t always the nicest (especially when I would have to inform them that I couldn’t give them a money back refund when the labels weren’t on the garments and they didn’t have a receipt!). Although, this definitely did provide me with the best Customer Service skills having to deal with tricky customers – which is probably why I’m also the Customer Services Manager here at the magazine šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

