Great or greatest

#182: What makes a blog great? What makes you follow a blog or “Like” a post?

Before I start answering today’s blog prompt, I’d just like to say a huge thank you to Joshua Price for his kind words within his answer for today. You have honestly made my day! We’re currently on press week here at the magazine, so everything is a little hectic and after reading it, I was grinning like a Cheshire cat! Definitely head over and check out his take on the 365 days of writing prompts challenge – it’s always so enjoyable!

So, what makes a blog great you say? For me, the content needs to have an element of honesty, in the way that bloggers are writing about their own opinions, views and experiences, as opposed to having to write something they don’t believe in (I guess this is mostly applicable when it comes to reviewing but I suppose people could be using this challenge to review their life… anyway, I digress!). I just think if you enjoy what you’re writing and are passionate about it, then it IS great! I also agree with Joshua in the fact that gaining followers/popularity is not why I started my blog but, I too, am extremely grateful and at times overwhelmed, by all the support I’ve received over the last six months (yikes… I’ve just realised, we’re halfway through the challenge already!). It’s an amazing feeling to hear how others are enjoying reading your content – I could never have imagined reaching over 100 followers and over 1,000 views in half a year! It truly blows my mind every single day – so a big THANK YOU!

What makes me follow a blog or like a post? Hmmm, well there isn’t a set formula for this one – I guess if I share interests with the other blogger, like the meaning behind their content or their passion and integrity is shining through, that is enough to make me want to keep an eye out for their future posts.

One thought on “Great or greatest

Leave a Reply

