We can be taught

#179: Tell us a moment or an incident that you treasure — not necessarily because it brought you happiness, but because it taught you something about yourself.

A few weeks ago I had a work experience type of day as a Content Intern, at an Internal Communications Agency company in Milton Keynes, called Headlines. It was an absolute eye opener! Not only was it a huge office with lots of different departments, but everyone seemed to have such fantastic relationships with everyone… and they had a kitchen/lounge area so people didn’t have to eat their lunch at their desks!

I was first asked to write a news story for APM’s website titled ‘Crossrail 2 could open four years ahead of schedule‘. Amazingly, within half an hour it had been read and handed back to me with only THREE minor changes. Since my background in journalism is mostly to do with the kids market, they were really impressed that I’d picked up their house style so quickly.

After I had made these changes and re-submitted my copy, I was asked to write a variety of sections across two double page spreads for Amazons internal magazine, Outside The Box. Using a very brief outline and some investigation into the various global departments, I was able to turn around multiple stories fairly quickly.

Finally, I was asked to research suitable Internal Communications stories that Headlines could rewrite for their own website. I found this extremely interesting, so it ended up being a pretty difficult task to only find five stories!

At the end of the day, I was invited to a conference room and was delighted to hear that they wished they had me for longer than one day as everything I had written, was exactly the way that Headlines staff would have written them.

This was a huge turning point for me as for quite a while people have been telling me what they thought I was capable of and apparently copy writing wasn’t one of them. Well HA! I’m absolutely delighted to have proven them wrong with more than just my word! I knew all along that I could write effectively and this day provided me with a HUGE confidence boost. Since then, I’ve successfully written three double page spreads and taken on more responsibility at the mag 😀

GO ME!

Leave a Reply

