Might as well jump

#169: What’s the biggest risk you’d like to take — but haven’t been able to? What would have to happen to make you comfortable taking it?

This is an equal tie between going travelling abroad by myself and moving out of Hertfordshire and into London… I really can’t work out which one is a bigger risk overall, though!

Travelling solo wise – what would obviously make me feel more comfortable in taking the risk, is that I wouldn’t be going by myself. But in this day and age, where everyone (especially my age) is so focussed on building their career, it’s really hard to find the time to go! The other thing I’ve been looking at, as a way of getting around this issue, is to go as part of a charity/volunteering group. The only problem I’ve found with this however, is that there are so many organisations out there that you can’t work out which one’s are actually reliable and will provide the experience they describe. Or maybe I’m just a bit of a sceptic and should just jump in feet first… but I’m very much about the safety aspect – a young, 5″2 woman wandering around foreign countries on her own. Hmm…

Moving out, into London wise – it’s not that I’m concerned about this one teensy bit as I loved living on my own during Uni but for me to be able to take that risk, I’d need job security and a decent salary that truly reflected my contribution to the company. Unfortunately, until I get this I have to stay put, as even though I could afford a monthly rent, I wouldn’t be able to feed myself at all, join a gym (I couldn’t live without my Yoga) or go out socially… even for a few drinks down the pub on a Friday after work. Not a risk I’m willing to take!

Screen shot 2014-06-18 at 13.29.46

Image: stuff.co.nz

Leave a Reply

