Shape up or ship out

#168: Write a letter to the personality trait you like least, convincing it to shape up or ship out. Be as threatening, theatrical, or thoroughly charming as is necessary to get the job done.

2014-06-15 08.36.11-1

Dear Overcritical-ness,

Thank you for you recent appearance following Sundays Race for Life. I understand your concerns that I could have achieved a better time but you have to understand the circumstances.

Firstly, I had not trained in the traditional way. Thanks to an Army Major, who was in charge of my Cardio Combat class a few weeks ago, I suffered an injury to my ankle which greatly limited my training capabilities. This meant that I could not jog or run, however I continued to stretch out and prepare my body through my weekly Yoga practise.

Secondly, when all three thousand participants were being divided into three sections (Running: if you were to complete the course in under 30 minutes; Jogging: finishing between 30-60 minutes; and Walking: if you wanted to wander round for over an hour), as not everyone was honest with themselves. My family and I entered the Jogging party as we wanted to complete the race in under an hour, only to be frustratingly restricted my walkers! To combat this, next year we will be joining the back of the Running party so that we are ahead of the fake joggers.

Finally, the terrain was pretty tough. Not only was it fairly hilly but it had rained the night before making it incredibly muddy and slippery. So, when we were having to zig-zag amongst the walkers, we had to be incredibly careful not to fall over or take anyone else down in the process!

I hope after reading the above you can appreciate the effort that went into completing my first ever 5K Race for Life in a time of 49 minutes. I am incredibly proud of myself and would be grateful if you could, quite frankly, do one!

Many thanks, as always,

Chloe

P.S. Cancer… I’m still coming to get you!

www.justgiving.com/chloe-may-ward

2014-06-15 22.16.26

2 thoughts on “Shape up or ship out

Leave a Reply

