Bookworm

#167: Tell us about the last book you read (Why did you choose it? Would you recommend it?).

I can’t remember specifically which book I read last, since I’m always reading, but the book I am currently reading is Jenny Colgan’s Little Beach Street Bakery. It was given to me for my birthday as I’m a huge fan of Sophie Kinsella‘s work and this one was recommended by her. So technically, I didn’t choose it… *cliche alert* it chose me!

Jenny has a different writing style to Sophie, so it did take me a little while to get into it. Although, as with all of my books, if I’ve started reading it… I have to finish it! That’s the rule with me. I’m now half way through and absolutely love it! The story follows a young woman, Polly, who faces complete upheaval in her life, so decides that the best thing to do is up sticks and move to quite a remote island. I always wonder – why do people think that moving locations would make them feel less lonely?! That said, this story reveals just how strong people can be when they really put their mind to it. Maybe location moves are a good thing after all?

I would recommend this book as it is a really sweet story and, to the right reader, could be quite empowering!

Screen shot 2014-06-16 at 14.05.56

Image: hachette.com.au

Leave a Reply

