Do not disturb!

#159: How do you manage your online privacy? Are there certain things you won’t post in certain places? Information you’ll never share online? Or do you assume information about you is accessible anyway?

I used to be very strict when it came to the information I shared online but with the digital age of today, there’s no escaping the inevitable – social media has become a part of everyday life and if you’re not using it, the general reaction is ‘what do you do with your time?!’. I do find this a shame though. I mean, what happened to meeting people in person, chilling in the garden with a good book (a physical one, not a kindle I should add), keeping personal diaries… stripping it right back to basics? I find that so many people are stuck, staring into their screens and are missing so many things going on around them, so many opportunities! 

That said, I have also evidently fallen into this category (writing a digital diary so to speak). However, I make a point not to divulge specific details on my blog/social media outlets when it comes to my family, for example names, family photos, locations etc, as I feel that it’s a bit too personal. I think however, when it comes to journalism you have to be online… everywhere! So, on a professional basis, I’m online as much as possible – LinkedIn, Twitter and of course my online portfolio. It’s just a must!

2 thoughts on “Do not disturb!

  1. #eekitstrue – Yes, these days many people are having a love affair with the screens and missing so much beauty in life. But for many, this is actually their first step out in the right direction. Sad. But so true.

Leave a Reply

