Fight or flight

#150: When faced with confrontation, do you head for the hills or walk straight in? Was there ever a time you wished you’d had the opposite reaction?

In all honesty, for me, it completely depends on who is bringing said confrontation. If it is someone in a senior position, then I of course would not be able to fight against it – I know and respect my place on the food chain. However, if it is something I passionately believe in, whether it be an original idea or something where I know I’m 100% undeniably correct, I will very much stick to my guns. I think it’s incredibly unfair when people use their power and status to try to belittle and dominate people lower down on the ladder, so when I find myself cornered in this way, I do tend to speak up and attempt to defend myself. Although most of the time, if I’ve put my point across twice and the confronter still isn’t backing down, I then retreat as it’s not worth arguing about. Sometimes it’s easier all round if you let them “win”. One of my many motto’s, which I believe everyone should stick to, inevitably reducing the amount of confrontations: if you want something done, do it yourself. 

Image

Image: notonthehighstreet.com

Leave a Reply

