Say your name

Image

#147: Write about your first name: Are you named after someone or something? Are there any stories or associations attached to it? If you had the choice, would you rename yourself?

My first name is Chloe and it wasn’t given to me because of its meaning or after anyone (although my middle name, May, is named after my amazing relative who is in her mid-90’s, still living in her own home and is another tough cookie!). After a bit of quick searching, I’ve found it to be from the Old Greek meaning ‘young green shoot’. I’m far from green-fingered but I’m taking it to mean that I will always be growing, reaching for the stars, since I am always looking to learn more! Makes sense really… combined with the fact that people always think that I look 5-8 years younger than I actually am, so there’s the young part covered!

If I had the choice (which everyone kind of has with the deed poll option), I wouldn’t change my name. When I was younger, I’m not sure why, but I did want to change my name. However, I’ve grown to love it during these last few years, as it makes me who I am!

Image: samuraibaby.com 

Leave a Reply

