The glass?

#125: Is the glass half-full, or half-empty?

Whilst trying to find the origin of this popular quote/saying, I stumbled across an interesting twist on it from an American comedian called George Carlin. He said “Some people see the glass half-full. Others see it half-empty. I see a glass that’s twice as big as it needs to be”. Interestingly, this implies that it doesn’t matter whether the glass is half-full or half-empty, as it’s still fit for purpose… or of course that a smaller, more suitable cup wasn’t available at the time of thirst! Which leads me nicely to my original response when I first read this prompt… I’d say I’m a bit of both. Most of the time, I feel like I am winning in this great race called life (half-full), whereas on the odd occasion, when I get caught in the rain without an umbrella or I get squished on a packed tube, if asked I would certainly answer half-empty!

Leave a Reply

