My birthday – oodles of cake, achey legs & sunny weather!

So, todays prompt topic didn’t appeal to me as it is, but my rebellion is primarily due to two outside, yet incredibly influential factors – today is press day, so it’s all systems go in the office, combined with the fact that I’ve been meaning to write up my birthday shenanigans whilst we’re still in the month of March!

ImageDuring my week off, I wanted to go inside St Paul’s Cathedral. I’m not sure why but ever since visiting Sagrada Familia, Barcelona, a few years back, I’ve developed a great love and appreciation for these magnificent works of art. However, this place should come with a warning sign. Don’t get me wrong, the Whispering Gallery is absolutely incredible and I’m so pleased that I reached the very top to the Golden Gallery… but they neglected to mention before I began my ascent, that I’d be climbing 1,161 steps that spiralled and also grew narrower the higher you got! This climb, for me, will be one of the things in life that I’m glad to have done but will never be doing again. Once is more than enough!

Image

ImageAfter giving my legs a good workout, my Mum and I headed to Bea’s of Bloomsbury for Afternoon Tea and what an absolute delight! We were treated to freshly made baguettes, an endless supply of tea (I chose peppermint – my favourite, since it is the only tea I drink), meringues, brownies, blondies, killer brownies, marshmallows, cupcakes and beautifully baked scones with lashings of jam and cream! I thoroughly enjoyed it even though we had to take the cupcakes home with us, as we’d turned slightly green by the end of it due to how full we felt. The only thing that let it down ever so slightly, was the missing feet at the top of the cake stand – never mind!

ImageWe then proceeded to waddle, I mean wander around the shops so that we (well, mostly I) didn’t doze off somewhere thanks to Bea’s tasty treats.

Also, during my birthday week off, I started my running training (ahead of the Sport Relief run… I use the term ‘run’ very loosely), I visited my favourite Mexican eaterie, Las Iguanas, for delicious fajitas, went to the hairdressers, joined my local Gym, had a meal from my favourite Indian restaurant and of course, no birthday would be complete without visiting the one and only, Choccywoccydoodah! (Check out my Blondie… which I devoured!)

Image

Leave a Reply

