180 degrees

#73: Tell us about a time you did a 180 — changed your views on something, reversed a decision, or acted in a way you ordinarily don’t.

Image

The most recent 180 I’ve done (and that I can remember) occurred this week and is to do with Ancient Egyptian tomb robbers. Let me give you a little bit of background information first, before I explain what it was…

Image

The spiffing looking gentleman pictured above, Howard Carter, was my Great Nan’s Uncle, which is where my fascination, and effectively addiction, to all things Ancient Egypt began (I like to tell people he was my Great Great Uncle as it’s an easier title to understand). Everything surrounding his world-changing discovery of the boy king, Tutankhamun, back in 1922 has captured me in a way that no other topic has before!

With that covered, the reason my 180 happened so recently is because this months magazine topic, that we are currently on press week for, is Ancient Egypt (my favourite!). Corresponding with the on sale date of this issue, will be Ancient Egypt Alive!, so for the past few days I have been approving and time coding tonnes of footage surrounding this incredible civilisation. One of the videos I approved, explained why tomb robbers weren’t the greedy thieves we all thought they were… well the early ones that is! During one Pharaoh’s reign (I can’t remember which one it is at the moment as my head is currently on the brink of exploding with Pharaohs, Gods and goddesses, Mummies, Pyramids etc), he became greedy and cut back the tomb workers pay and food rations. This prompted the first ever recorded workers strike and led to an incredibly tough life for these people. Since the tomb builders/decorators were the only ones who knew the secret locations of their Kings tombs, they were forced to steal the jewellery and precious goods in order to survive. Insight of this, I felt very sorry for them as tomb robbing was considered an incredibly serious crime, since they were stealing the Pharaoh’s eternal life. I’d imagine not an easy thing to do after you’d worshipped and idolised these royals for so long!

Images: Tutankhamun – tenfactsabout.co.uk. Howard Carter – theboyking.com/carter

2 thoughts on “180 degrees

  1. Pingback: My Liebster Award nomination! | chloemayward

  2. Pingback: 2/31 Wait… you didn’t know?! | chloemayward

Leave a Reply

