Cliché

#56: Clichés become clichés for a reason. Tell us about the last time a bird in the hand was worth two in the bush for you.

Before I wrote today’s post, I just had to find out where this saying came from! It is believed that it originated in mediaeval times, where a bird in the hand (a falcon) was an incredibly valuable asset and most certainly worth more than two in the bush (referring to the prey). The meaning behind this therefore is that it is better to have something that is certain than to take a risk to get more, which may result in losing everything.

So with that in mind, I guess the closest thing to it that I have experienced is job hunting. As much as I love my job, unfortunately there is no opportunity for career progression, so spending all of my spare time seeking out a new position has the potential to result in a position not as enjoyable or with as much responsibility. It very much is a gamble in my opinion as you never know if the new job you take will be better than the previous one – although I’m sure it will all work out in the end! I’m a firm believer of good things come to those who wait.

Leave a Reply

