Buffalo nickel

#55: Dig through your couch cushions, your purse, or the floor of your car and look at the year printed on the first coin you find. What were you doing that year?

Since I’m in the office for my lunch break (I know – madness when it’s so sunny outside!), it would look extremely bizarre if I were to begin rummaging around the sofas, which are situated outside in the communal area! However, remembering that I’d only taken £4 out with me for lunch today (working on a budget in London is super tough) and I’d only spent £3 (go me!), I reached into my coat pocket and retrieved a lonely £1 coin, to find that it had the year 1989 on it. The year I was born! What are the chances of that happening?! (FYI – I checked my purse and all of the pound coins I had, were dated from 2000 onwards!) It was fate!

Up until my arrival on the 7th March 1989, I was tucked up cosily in my mums baby bump! Apparently, I wasn’t the easiest to deliver (40 or so hours of agonising labour – not that I can remember) and ended up being a sunroof baby. From then on I was of course a bundle of joy… obviously nothing’s changed 25 years down the line! In all seriousness, I only know what I got up to in the first 10 months of my life thanks to lovely, heart-warming home videos (mostly filmed by my Grandad as I was the first Grandchild… extremely momentous occasion!). I did the usual things you’d expect a baby to do – learnt how to crawl, stand with the support of sturdy objects and say a kookie mixed bag of words i.e. when I’d say ‘lee’ that would signal that I’d finished eating (my parents were never able to work out how this one came about) and a ‘baush’ was a brush. Oh to be carefree…

Leave a Reply

