Ch-Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes

#35: You need to make a major change in your life. Do you make it all at once, cold turkey style, or incrementally?

Based on previous success rates, I find that making the change all at once has been the best method for me, even if it super hard to do. If I make the change gradually, it can take a heck of a lot longer or worst case scenario, I end up not making the change at all! If the major change happened to be something along the lines of moving house/geographical location, I would still attempt to make the transition in one go, but would end up coming back home for the first weekend to no doubt finish packing/unloading/tidying my old room (and of course for some comforting familiarity). The only major change that I am still struggling to achieve, and I’d like to think is a similar one for many people, is maintaining a healthy diet. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not overweight or anything, but I know I could eat healthier – which of course would help me in the long run. Although, I guess still having some chocolate/biscuits left over from Christmas presents is still good going right?!

On reflection, whilst re-reading the post, it struck me that it’s quite odd for someone who is as organised and as planned as myself, to take the ‘jump straight in’ approach. I always prefer to be prepared and be able to explore all possible avenues before coming to a decision. But I guess this is slightly different, as this post is referring to when the decision had been made, regardless of whether I’d been the one to make it. Win win!

Leave a Reply

