Burning down the house

#30: Your home is on fire. Grab five items (assume all people and animals are safe). What did you grab?

Well, I always hope this doesn’t happen in my lifetime but the first one, which I’m sure is on everyone’s list, is that I’d grab my box of photos. Not the recent ones that I have digital copies of, but the really old ones that I don’t even have the negatives for so could never be reprinted. Saying that, I currently have around 10 or so boxes full of photos that I should really go through and sort, putting all my favourites into one box, for ease of evacuation!

The second thing I’d make a grab for, is all of the jewellery that has been passed down the generations or given to me by dearly departed relatives. It’s not really that much; only a ring, a few mismatch earrings and a couple of lockets but they mean the absolute world to me and I’d be devastated if I lost them.

Thirdly, and I know this will sound silly, but I’d pick the teddy bear that I was given when I was born. It’s been around for as long as I have, so definitely deserves to survive! Plus it’s still in really good shape so surely has another 25 years left in him!

The fourth item I’d pick up would be my important documents … well the ones I know that I have in my room i.e. my passport, my degree certificate, my drivers license certificate, exam certificates and my signed original drawing of Ice Age’s Scrat from Peter De Sève (who I met on my press trip to Iceland and he drew it specifically for me, right in front of me!). I know the last one isn’t technically an important document but it’s still a piece of paper … I really should find out where my birth certificate is just to complete the set!

This last one is tricky … I could say iPad/laptop but pretty much all of my photos and videos are backed up on Dropbox so can be retrieved easily. Nothing else strikes me as ‘I’d risk my life for it’. I guess I’d instinctively grab my handbag, which commonly includes my purse, phone, keys (not that I’d need them if the house was on fire!), tissues, umbrella, hats and gloves etc. On second thoughts, I might grab my hard back copy of Oblivion by Anthony Horowitz, as he was the first person I interviewed face-to-face and he signed it for me with a personal message, which really meant a lot to me. On a side note, he was that impressed with my confidence that he invited me to his book launch at The Ivy Club Loft in London!

I might have a proper think about this over the weekend and start getting together an evacuation pack just as a precaution! (Similar to what Luis has written about in his post for todays writing prompt)

Leave a Reply

