Ode to a playground

#28: A place from your past or childhood, one that you’re fond of, is destroyed. Write it a memorial.

Hmmmm …. after much procrastination, I’ve decided that even though I still visit this place from time to time, it played a big role in my childhood. The place I am referring to is The Natural History Museum in London. Before I start, I’d like to say thank goodness this is fictional, but if it had been destroyed my memorial would go something like this …

The Natural History Museum meant a lot to my family and I. We’d check in as frequently as possible (thanks to the free entry!), mostly during the summer holidays, and would often share visits with our friends and extended family. There was always lots of fun to be had there and, not that I knew it at the time, it was sneakily educational, too! I fondly remember being a member of the NHM for a brief period of time. This allowed us access to a marvellously decorated VIP room just off the main entrance and it always seemed to be empty when we went in, so it felt like it was our secret special room, just for us! It will be sadly missed by all who entered via it’s magnificent arches. Nothing will ever be able to take its place.

Screen shot 2014-01-28 at 14.15.17Image: qualitycrown.com

Leave a Reply

