In a crisis

#17: Honestly evaluate the way you respond to crisis situations. Are you happy with the way you react?

Well of course every crisis is different so my reaction is heavily dependent on who is directly involved, who I am around at the time of the crisis, the potential outcomes available, as well as how much time there is for me to evaluate the situation and come to a decision. The majority of the time I am likened do a duck in a pond … bear with me on this. So a duck presents a calm exterior above water as if swimming is a piece of cake (well OK, it probably is for ducks but you know what I mean). However, when you take a look below the surface its legs are going ten to the dozen, whilst the duck frantically tries to stay afloat. That’s me. The duck. I somehow, as if on autopilot, manage to portray a calm outer layer in times of crisis and even though I am able to come up with viable solutions, the cogs in my brain are crazily working over time. Of course I would prefer that I didn’t temporarily adopt the mannerisms of a duck, I’m only human, but at the same time I’m pleased that I can still successfully work my way through the situation regardless of my befuddled interior!

2 thoughts on “In a crisis

  1. Pingback: In a crisis | Sue's Trifles

Leave a Reply

