Teacher’s pet

#8: Tell us about a teacher who had a real impact on your life, either for the better or the worse. How is your life different today because of him or her?

Today’s writing prompt is a tricky one! After spending half the day trying to think of who I could write about, I could only think of one teacher who, after taking his advice, has directly affected my life – even though almost 7 years later, it’s still not clear to me whether this has been for the better or not?! Back when my A Levels were nearing their inevitable end, I was one of the many students who still (frustratingly) didn’t have a clue what to do with their life. One thing was certain, I knew I wanted to go to University but I couldn’t decide on which path to take – amongst the degree topics up for consideration were Beauty Therapy Management and Psychology. However, after having a meeting with the head of Business A Levels, I asked him what he thought I’d be good at (after teaching me for the previous two years), he said that I’d be really good at Human Resource Management as I’m a people-person and extremely organised. Fast-forward to the beginning of my final year in my HR degree and I found myself with a strong dislike for all things related to Human Resources! ARGH! As you can imagine, it was not the most ideal time to realise that I didn’t actually like or even remotely enjoy my chosen degree subject, being faced with the most crucial year and of course the dreaded dissertation. However, at the end of it all, I still managed to achieve an incredible and if I do say so myself, a very well earned 2:1. Although, I do often find myself wondering whether my career path would have turned out differently if I had chosen a degree in English/Journalism … But this is destined to remain one of my life’s mysteries!

4 thoughts on “Teacher’s pet

  1. Pingback: Teacher’s pet | Sue's Trifles

  2. I am currently going through the same thing! Just at the start of my final year, I realised.. This is not what I want to be doing. Cannot stand it. But, great post!

    • Thanks Nikkita! Don’t give up – even though it doesn’t feel like it, final year will go really quickly and remember, your chosen degree subject doesn’t define who you are. Employers are simply looking to see that you have the capability to achieve a degree 🙂 I wish you all the best for 2014!

      • Thank you for your kind words, Chloe! I wish you all the success for 2014 too. Look forward to seeing more of your blog posts!

Leave a Reply

